Season 2, Episode 12: Jumping in the Ditch

This week we discuss mid-race bathroom logistics, Katie shares not one, but two great race recaps; Sue has bad runs and great runs; and poor Meagan is sick again!

Download now: Season 2, Episode 12: Jumping in the Ditch

Runner Girl Recommends:

Sue: 6pm.com

Meagan: Your local baseball team

Katie: Starbucks App for SmartPhones

Runner Girl of the Week:

Tammy M. from Coshocton, OH

Also Mentioned on the Show:

Paula Radcliffe in the 2005 London Marathon

One thought on “Season 2, Episode 12: Jumping in the Ditch

  1. Oh my goodness!! I’m a little behind listening your podcast (it’s a busy time of year with kids school and training for my half and stuff) but what a huge surprise that you chose me as Runner Girl of the Week!! You may have read already, but my half marathon for the Capital City Half in Columbus, Ohio was absolutely AMAZING!! Though I was absolutely nervous…probably more than I have ever been for anything ever, the crowd (over 14,000) and the music played along each mile was so motivating!! I did great for pretty much the whole race (no hip pain…yay!) but started getting tired about mile 11. It was then that I started praying and just telling myself, you’ve come this far…no giving up now!! When I turned the corner onto High St. where the finish line was I was just ready for it to be over…it was about 500 feet to the finish line and I just took everything I had left and sprinted to that finish line…I was hoping to finish in the 2:20 – 2:30 range. I finished in 2:21:42!! I was thrilled!! And yes I cried at the end and just amazed at the fact that I was able to finish something that I had spent months training for. I already signed up for my second half which will be on October 6th in Cleveland Ohio for the Rock & Roll Half and I will also be signing up for the Capital City Half again once the race registration for 2014 opens. I am hooked! Even though it was a lot of hard work and not without its pains and trials, it was all truly worth it! Thanks so much for rooting me on!! Love your podcast and keep up the great work!!

Leave a Reply

