Season 1, Episode 10: All Parts Awesome

This week Sue counts down the days to her first half marathon, we share some cool theme races we’re interested in, find out if any of us have been training, and share some more great Runner Girl Recommends.

Download now: Episode 10: All Parts Awesome

Races We Talked About on the Show:

Katie: Rock and Roll Series, Run For Your Lives, Tough Mudder, and Urban Dare

Meagan: The Color Run, Foam Fest, and Disney Princess Half Marathon

Sue: Mt. Washington Road Race, Awesome 80’s Run, and The North American Wife Carrying Championship

Runner Girl Recommends:

Meagan: Active.com

Sue: Wahoo Fitness Wahoo Blue HR Strap

Katie: Local running clubs

3 thoughts on “Season 1, Episode 10: All Parts Awesome

  1. Loved this! Some of these races, I had never heard about…Urban Dare, Foam Fest, Awesome 80’s Run? Fantastic! I’m definitely adding some of these to my Fitness Bucket List!

    • Same here – I actually learned about some of these from this show. I really want to do the Urban Dare. Adding that to my bucket list as well. Also, on my bucket list – watch The Bucket List.šŸ™‚

  2. While admittedly, comparatively expensive, the Disney Princess Half Marathon does not cost $180.

    Disney’s Princess Half Marathon
    $140 by September 25, 2012
    $155 between September 26 and November 13, 2012
    $170 on or after November 14, 2012

    It’s a fun race, and if you’re in the right corral (achieved by submitting a 10K or farther time) you could as easily PR this as most other races. When I ran it last year, I was never blocked by lineups for characters – they’re well managed.

    What you do get for your admission is a well organized race that runs through 2 Disney parks, a very festive start (with fireworks for each corral), great support and course entertainment, fabulous finish line and a pretty amazing medal.
    I’ve run the Disneyland Half since then, and plan to run the Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend Half this coming January, so clearly I think it’s worth the money.

    I have also run local races for less, and they’re great, but they’re a different animal. I think the quality of the race & amenities should be reflected in the price, and I think Disney does a reasonable job maintaining that balance.

Leave a Reply

